Home Entertainment Delhi Who Are Your Ministers?

Delhi Who Are Your Ministers?


After Aam Aadmi party secured a landslide victory in 2020 assembly polls, AAP’s cabinet ministers took oath at Ramlila maidan along with party supremo Arvind Kejriwal.

Manish Sisodia, Satyender Jain, Gopal Rai, Kailash Gehlot, Imran Hussain, and Rajendra Gautama were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Delhi Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal.

All the six have served as ministers under Kejriwal’s previous government, here’s a look at their previous portfolios and constituencies they won for the party.

Manish Sisodia

In the 2020 Delhi Assembly elections, Manish Sisodia won the Patparganj assembly elections by defeating Ravinder Singh Negi by a relatively narrow margin of 3,391 votes. Sisodia is the AAP’s founding member and Arvind Kejriwal’s trusted lieutenant.In the last cabinet, Sisodia held several key portfolios including finance and education and is credited with transforming the government-run schools in the city with better infrastructure and bringing transparency in the admission process in private schools.

Gopal Rai

In this election, Gopal Rai won against BJP’s Naresh Gaur in Babarpur by a margin of 33,062 votes. He held the department of labour, employment, development and general administration under the previous AAP government. He is also the Convener of the Delhi state unit of the the party.

Kailash Gahlot

Another winner who took oath today was Kailash Gehlot, who previously served as the minister for transport. Gahlot defeated BJP’s Ajeet Singh Kharkhari by a margin of 6,231 votes in Najafgarh constituency. Apart from being the transport minister, Gehlot was in-charge of revenue, law, justice and legislative affairs, information and technology, administrative reforms portfolios in the AAP’s 2015 government.

Imran Hussain

AAP’s Imran Hussain won over BJP’s Lata Sodhi and Congress’ Haroon Yusuf with a margin of 36,172 votes from Ballimaran constituency. He received 64.65 per cent of vote share. In the AAP’s previous government, Hussain was minister of food and civil supplies, environment and forests.

Rajendra Pal Gautam

Rajendra Pal Gautam won from Seemapur constituency with a vote margin of 55,942, beating Sant Lal from Lok Jan Shakti Party. This was his second victory from this constituency. In the previous Delhi government, Gautam held portfolios of social welfare, SC and ST, gurudwara elections, water, and registrar of cooperative societies.

Satyendra Jain

In this election Satyendra Jain defeated BJP’s SC Vats from Shakur Basti constituency by a margin of 7,592 votes. Earlier, Jain was responsible for portfolios of health, industries, power, public works department, home and urban development, in AAP’s 2015 government.

Previous article‘Little mufflerman’ attends Arvind Kejriwal’s oath-taking ceremony.
Next articleWhat is AAP’s 3-point action plan for ‘nation building’?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here