Home Latest News “Live Updates: Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections Witness Incidents of Violence”

“Live Updates: Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections Witness Incidents of Violence”


Voting is underway for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections, a crucial event that will determine the fate of 2,533 candidates competing for 230 seats. The polling, which commenced at 7 am, will continue until 6 pm in most assembly segments, with exceptions in Naxalite affected areas where voting concludes at 3 pm.

Key political figures such as Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and his predecessor, rival Kamal Nath, are at the forefront of this electoral battle between the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress. The significance of this contest has heightened due to its bipolar nature.

However, the electoral process has been marred by an unfortunate incident in the Mehgaon Assembly constituency. An unidentified group opened fire, resulting in injuries to a BJP candidate and an Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) supporter. Prompt police intervention followed the incident, with a team dispatched to the site.

The single-phased polling has gripped the attention of the state, with voters actively participating in the democratic process until 6 pm. It’s worth noting that certain areas, including Baihar, Lanji, and Parswara assembly seats in Balaghat district, as well as select booths in Mandla and Dindori districts, will continue polling until 3 pm.

As the electorate casts their votes, all eyes are on the outcome, scheduled to be revealed on December 3 following the counting of votes. The Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections are unfolding as a closely watched battle, shaping the political landscape for the state.